Francesca Woodman – Boxes

Francesca Woodman

The write up of Francesca is nothing to do with her work, but rather the layout of her work at the gallery. The style was used to present five images with a diamond-grid formation in square frames.

I was somewhat fascinated by the layout, and got me thinking about how to arrange content online. I did a bit of browsing by simply typing “boxes” and “grid” into Google and trying to make something of my results. While not finding any content about boxes or grids particularly I soon realised that a lot of the web is contained within invisible grids or boxes and I will here document my findings.

An example of a grid with small margins was this one (http://grid.vsco.co/grid/1)

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 21.52.45 (2)

Like a gallery it has a set formation and sticks to it, I have drawn on the image blue lines to draw attention to the fact that the alignment isn’t edge to edge like many, or even simply bordered, but instead is staggered which seems to improve the flow of content.

I found websites that don’t have visible grids, seem to be arranged in a grid formation and found examples of this on many websites, I have again drawn on the images to further illustrate the point I am trying to prove.

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 22.18.00 (2)

On the Apple (www.apple.com) website you find content on a grey gradient, while there are no visible borders to the girds. As this was such a common theme across many websites I was looking at I decided to dig a bit deeper into the world of grid layouts online. I came across the 12 column grid (http://960.gs) which just so happens to be 960 pixels wide, the idea being that you can have many sized boxes within the grid, as long as it follows the specified sized, like this image represents (http://www.qualitypressthemes.com/wp-content/uploads/12-column.jpg);

12-column

There are many examples of work that use this grid formation as suggested on the website. These consist of big websites such as Sony Music, right down to more unknown companies like Black Estate Vineyard. Having experimented on multiple devices, I have also realised that these websites are almost instantly mobile optimised by simply using such a grid layout, with a fluid formation, allowing the content to arrange itself by understanding the size of the display.

Leave a Reply

